Results and thank you to our volunteers at DROAPF

DROAPF logo 2018 small.jpg

Another One Act Play Festival is over and once again an extremely enjoyable event. Congratulations to the award winners at the 24th Dandenong Ranges One Act Play Festival held at The Gem Theatre in Emerald.
We would thank all the companies who again made the trek into the hills. You are the ones, with all our volunteers, who make the festival what it is - a celebration of theatre and theatre craft.  In all, 12 companies presented 13 plays over the 2 days of the festival. There were 4 new plays, 50 Actors and 19 individuals and businesses sponsoring our awards and raffle prizes.

I would like to thank all our local businesses who gave us raffle prizes: Laughing Fox Café; Effies Fish and Chips; Emerald Village Meats; Custom Framing; Emerald Pharmacy / Simply Wholesome; Cellarbrations; Chris Newport; Heather Studham; Sea Change Natural Health; Carmela Pezzimenti.

Especially, I would like to thank all the volunteers who helped make this weekend run so smoothly:

Front of House: Margie Gemmell and Carmela Pezzimenti who cooked up wonderful soups, jacket potatoes, rocky road, and lemon slice ... wonderfully assisted by John Jennings; Michelle Drinnan; and Cat Tregillis. Brydee Grace assisted me with the box office when I was looking after lights.

Backstage: Stephen Nichols as SM ... ably assisted by Samuel Nichols; Candace Peterson; Cosi ... in the Bio Box Ross Housham on sound and me on lights.

MC: Kate McManus opened the weekend, and then went to work! Mark Caile introduced the Saturday selection and Trevor Mills put on a show with the ocassional play in between!

Our excellent program was created by Kylie Rackham, many thanks.

I would like to give a special thank you to our adjudicator, Sharon Maine, for giving up her weekend and giving such insightful comments about each play.

I would like to thank all the companies for bringing such a wonderful variety of plays and wish them all the best for the rest of the circuit:

Hobo Playhouse - Tuesdays are for Bill by Paul Hannah - Comedy (G)
Nautilus Theatre Project - The Art of Fencing by Chris Dickins - Drama (G)
Warrandyte Theatre Company - Smitten by Anna Stillaman and Mark Matthews - Comedy (G)
1812 - Next in Line by Chris Hodson - Drama (M - themes)
Powderkeg Players - Slut by Patricia Cornelius - Drama (MA)
Dizzy Productions - Ebbed by Mark Lucas - Drama (MA)
Hartwell Players - Lobster Man by Jonathan Cook - Drama (PG)
Peridot Theatre Company - On the Edge by Kylie Rackham - Drama (M)
Shalafron Productions - Acceptance by Alfred Krause - Drama (G)
Flash in the Pan - Anna Alone by Cat Coxan - Drama (PG)
Here There & Everywhere - Therapy by Phillip A Mayer - Drama (M)
Warrandyte Theatre Company - A Little Book of Oblivion by Stephen Bean - Comedy (G)
Adelphi Players - Another Pair of Spectacles by Victor Bridges - Comedy (G)

Adjudicator Certificates:

Jaz Harwood (only youth performer in our program) - for an excellent performance and showing great maturity as a performer.
Hobo Playhouse - for creating an excellent picture of place with a simple yet effective set.
The Hartwell Players - for creating an excellent sense of time and place through strong accents, soundscapes and costuming.
John Reisinger - for excellent physicalisation and use of gesture to create the character of Kelvin in 'Therapy'.
Shalafron Productions - for shining a light on relevant and important human issues.

Adjudicator Award - Sponsored by Kaye Charles Real Estate:

Cast of 'Slut' - Outstanding ensemble work.

Best Supporting Male Actor - Sponsored by Blake Stringer:

Nominated: Fred Jameson - Ebbed, Dizzy Productions. Mark Caile - Anna, Alone, Flash in the Pan.
Winner: Glenn Hunt - Another Pair of Spectacles, Adelphi Players

Best Male Actor - Sponsored by Emerald Fruit Barn:

Nominated: Chris Dickins - The Art of Fencing, Nautilus Theatre Project. Adam Marsh - Ebbed, Dizzy Productions.
Winner: Brett Hyland - One the Edge, Peridot Theatre Company

Best Supporting Female Actor - Sponsored by Kaye Charles Real Estate:

Nominated: Kathy Whitfield - Ebbed, Dizzy Productions. Josephine Boffa - Ebbed, Dizzy Productions.
Winner: Reschelle O'Connor - Slut, Powderkeg Players

Best Female Actor - Sponsored by Kaye Charles Real Estate:

Nominated: Susan Casey - Tuesdays are for Bill, Hobo Playhouse. Brydee Grace - Anna, Alone, Flash in the Pan
Winner: Donna Cleverley - Next in Line, 1812.

Best Director - Sponsored by Sea Change Natural Health and Gemco Players:

Nominated: Dexter Bourke - Next in Line, 1812. Gerald Dwyer - Ebbed, Dizzy Productions.
Winner: Natasha Boyd - Slut, Powderkeg Players.

Best New Play - Sponsored by Hayley Lawson-Smith, Dramatic Pause Theatre:

Nominated: Next in Line by Chris Hodson. Acceptance by Alfred Krause. Therapy by Phillip A Mayer.
Winner: The Art of Fencing by Chris Dickins.

Best Drama - Sponsored by Carmela Pezzimenti and Gemco Players:

Nominated: Next in Line, 1812. On the Edge, Peridot Theatre Company.
Winner: Slut, Powderkeg Players.

Best Comedy - Sponsored by Tinkar's Corner and Gemco Players:

Nominated: Tuesdays are for Bill, Hobo Playhouse. A Little Box of Oblivion, Warrandyte Theatre Co.
Winner: Another Pair of Spectacles, Adelphi Players.

Best Production Runner Up - Sponsored by Stockdale & Leggo:

Winner: Next in Line, 1812.

Best Production, The David Greenaway Memorial Award - Sponsored by Barry Plant Real Estate / Mitre 10 (Emerald) - Presented by Mat Greenaway:

Nominated: One the Edge, Peridot Theatre Company.
Winner: Slut, Powderkeg Players.

See you next year.

Evie Housham, DROAPF 2018 Co-ordinator